Roles and permissions allow you to activate or limit your team's access rights to certain features.
What's in this Article
- Working with Roles and Permissions
- Duplicate Roles
- Create Roles
- Assign Roles
Working with Roles and Permissions
When you invite new team members to your Canopy account, you need to assign a role.
A role is a defined collection of permissions or access rights. For example, you may have a role in your firm where someone needs access to run administrative items, but does not need to interact with contacts.
At a high-level, there are two main roles team members can have in Canopy: an Admin or Staff user. Each roles have varying levels of access rights. In total, you have access to six (6) preset roles with preset permissions that can be applied to team members:
- Admin (No Billing)
- Staff (All Contacts)
- Staff (All Contacts, No Billing)
- Staff (Assigned Contacts)
- Staff (Assigned Contacts, No Billing)
Heads-up! By default, only Admin users are allowed to create custom roles and permissions for the account.
An Admin can set or change a role when adding a team member or at any time. To change or edit roles:
- Click on your profile button.
- Select Settings.
- On the left-hand pane, select Roles and Permissions.
All permissions within a role are broken down by:
- Canopy modules
- their respective features
- and a short description
You can toggle a feature permission on and off by clicking the button next to the permission. But you cannot edit these preset roles. To customize permissions, create or duplicate a preset role.
Let’s start by duplicating an existing role. In Roles and Permissions:
- Scroll to the icon next to Done on the right-side of the window.
- Next, name your Role.
- Click Duplicate.
Now, you’ll be able to edit the role’s permissions. This becomes a customized role and you have the ability to turn on or off features.
You can toggle each feature as a one-off or you could decide to activate access to all of the module features by clicking the top toggle button for that module.
Once finished, click Save. Now, that role appears in your Roles list.
Create Roles from Scratch
You may also create a role from scratch by selecting Add Role. It’s the same process as duplicating, except all features are deactivated or grayed out to start. Go ahead and activate the permissions…don’t forget to name it! And click save it.
There is no wrong way to create or manage roles - it’s really up to you and the needs of your firm.
You can edit roles at any time by simply clicking on the desired role, where you'll be taken to the menu to edit it.
Make your edits and click save to update it. That’s it!