All Collections
Guides for Your Clients
Files
Upload Files Using a Secure Link
Upload Files Using a Secure Link
Updated this week

What's in this Article

You might send your practitioner files via email when you don't want to log in to the client portal to upload documents. Using secure links allows you to upload documents from your email. Your practitioner gets the documents they need faster and it gives you and other third parties a secure way to upload documents.

For example, if a bookkeeper needs to upload files for you each month, they don't need access to sensitive information in your client portal. They can simply use secure links sent by your practitioner!

File Compatibility:

  • File Type: .bmp .csv .doc .docx .emf .eml .heic .htm .html .jp2 .jpeg .jpg .mkv .mov .mp4 .msg .ods .odt .pdf .png .ppt .pptx .rtf .tif .tiff .txt .xls .xlsm .xlsx .xod .xps

  • Max File Size: 4.999342 GB

  • Folders: Folders must be compressed or zipped. Unzipped folders will not be uploaded.

Upload Files Using a Secure Link on Mobile

1. On your phone, navigate to the email from your practitioner.

2. Tap Upload Files.

Note: The italicized text under Upload Files shows the date that this link expires. If it happens to be after the expiration date, reach out to your practitioner and they can resend the upload link.

3. On the top right of the window that populates in your mobile browser, tap Add a file.

Select an upload option from the list. This includes Photo Library, Take Photo or Video, and Choose Files.

4. After making your selection, feel free to rename the uploads in the Name Uploads window.

5. For 10 minutes after uploading the file, you can Delete or Rename the files.

If you add another file after your initial upload, you have 10 minutes from the second upload to Rename or Delete the file.

The window looks like this when you want to Rename the file.

The window looks like this when you want to Delete the file.

After 10 minutes, uploads cannot be renamed or deleted and your practitioner is sent the files.

Note: You can go back to the upload link from your email at any time to upload files as long as the link has not expired!

Upload Files Using a Secure Link on a Browser

1. On your browser, navigate to the email from your practitioner.

2. Read through the email.

3. Select Upload Files.

Note: The italicized text under Upload Files shows the date that this link expires. If it happens to be after the expiration date, reach out to your practitioner and they can resend the upload link.

4. On the top right of the window that populates, click Add a file.

Choose any needed files from the File Explorer that populates.

5. Alternatively, you can drag and drop files to this area.

6. In the Name Uploads window, rename your uploaded files.

7. Click Save.

8. For 10 minutes after uploading the file, you can Delete or Rename the files.

If you add another file after your initial upload, you have 10 minutes from the second upload to Rename or Delete the file.

A window populates to confirm the deletion.

After 10 minutes, uploads cannot be renamed or deleted and your practitioner is sent the files.

Note: You can go back to the upload link from your email at any time to upload files as long as the link has not expired!

Did this answer your question?