Navigating the Task List
Updated over a week ago

In this article:

  • Navigate the Task List

  • Customize your Task List

  • View Archived Tasks

As you start building out more and more tasks, these are all recorded in a Task List within Canopy. To get there:

  1. Click on the Tasks tab or module.

  2. Then click Task List.

Navigate the Task List

The Task List is a directory for your tasks. When you arrive on the page, you’ll see that it looks similar in layout to the contact list - except that the focus is on the jobs you are doing. There’s actually quite a lot you can do with this list, so let’s see if we are up to the task.

The table column across the top give you a view of:

  • Task Status

  • The Task

  • The assigned contact

  • The type of task

  • Team members assigned

  • Dates

  • And Priority

Except for the Status and Task Name (which are frozen to the left), You can move the other columns around as you see fit. Simply click and drag with your mouse.

To jump to a Task, just click on the Task’s hyperlink and you can view the task workspace.

Just hit back on your browser to go back to the list.

For Tasks with subtasks and/or client requests, you’ll see a dropdown with two numbers next to the task name. This means you have x amount of subtasks under that task. If you click the dropdown, you can see the progress of those subtasks. Clicking on brings you to the workspace and highlights the box of the subtask you selected.

You can opt to show or not show subtasks as part of your list. Just click on the three dots icon and select Show subtasks to turn subtask visibility on or off.

For tasks of interest, you can pin these to the top of your list. Click the pin to the left. Now, you’ll freeze these rows to the top and the pin icon turns blue.

Lastly, you can update certain columns like dates or priorities. Just click on the date to adjust the date if needed. And for priorities, just click on the priority to adjust it.

Canopy Tip! You can also make bulk changes to status, and priority, or make changes to those assigned to the tasks.

To do that, select a couple of tasks by clicking the row (but not the name of the task), then while holding down the CTRL key on your keyboard, click on a couple of other rows. You’ll see a faint blue highlight on the rows, which indicates you selected them. You can also use SHIFT to select consecutive rows in your table. After you’ve made your selection, with your mouse, right-click.

A menu appears with options to:

  • Archive

  • Change status

  • Change priority

  • And change assigned

This menu is dynamic so if you chose all client requests saved as drafts, then you would also see a Send Request option. In this example, because the status is all drafts, there isn’t an option to change the status.

This is also a nice way to bulk archive many tasks at once. Select the tasks you want to archive, then right-click and select Archive.

Customize the Task List

To start, you have three main filters you can apply to your task list:

  • Active Work – the work your firm is currently working on, including other team members (work that has been completed or archived will not appear).

  • All Work - this shows everything - even work that you have completed.

  • My Work - this shows the work assigned to you.

These are simply filters to get you started. You can update these as you see fit.

If you want to strictly show only completed tasks on the filter for an existing filter, click on the status dropdown and select statuses that are completed. Then click apply filter.

The table adjusts to show only completed tasks. And now, you have the option to save the filtered view. So let’s click that.

You’ll be asked if you want to:

  • Save as New.

  • Or Update Existing.

If you update existing, it overwrites what you changed with filters so be careful.

To change the name of the filter:

  1. Click on the three dots icon on the far right.

  2. Select customize task list.

  3. On the left-hand pane in the window, click Reorder filter views.

Now, you can click and drag these around. You can rename any of the filter names, by clicking its associated three dots icon. You can even rename the starting three filters if you want. Rename it and click Save.

Don’t forget to save it again!

Now, let’s look at saving as a new filter.

For example, if you wanted to show tasks with a medium or high priority. Click on the Priority column header. In the menu, let’s check “Medium” and “High”. Then click apply filter.

Now, you’ll only view tasks with a medium or high priority.

You can save this filter for future use by clicking Save Filter and indicating that this is the new filter you want to save. Then name your filter.

Once you're finished, the name of your new filter appears at the top of the list next to the other filters. When you visit this list in the future, you can simply click on the filter button here to apply it!

Once you have filters, you can further customize the list a bit, click on the three dots icon at the top-right. Then hit Customize Task List.

For each filtered view, you can choose to show or hide certain columns. If you have custom dates, you can add those by clicking the space under custom dates, then select your custom date in the dropdown.

View Archived Tasks

Now, let’s quickly talk about archived tasks. Those do not appear here in the lists we talked about. Instead, those are found by selecting the three dots icon and selecting archived tasks.

Here, you can see the list of tasks that have been archived. You can move these back into an active list or you can delete them forever.

You might have noticed that if you wanted to delete tasks, you were only given the option to archive.

This is part of the two-step process of deleting a task. Deleted tasks have to be archived first. So if you are 100% sure you don’t need a task anymore, click Delete. Just be mindful because those cannot be recovered!

Did this answer your question?