Skip to main content

Invite Contacts to the Client Portal

Any team member with access to a client can invite a client to the client profile.

Quickly send a client portal invite from the Client Record. From here, you can also remove access, resend invites, and manage permissions and visibility settings for the client portal.

Invite Contacts to the Client Portal

1. Enter a search for the desired client.


To navigate to the Client Record, go to Clients → Client List and click on the client’s name.
​

2. Select the Client

3. Select the dropdown arrow on a contact to expand the Contact's information.


If the Client Portal section is not immediately visible, expand the section using the + icon.
​

4. Select Send Invite.

Quick Tip: To invite all listed contacts in the Client Record to the portal,

  1. Click on the three stacked dots in the Contacts section

  2. Select Invite contacts to client portal.

  3. Check/uncheck contacts as needed, include a personal message, and click Send to x contacts!

Note: If there isn't an email associated with the Contact, you'll be prompted to add an email after selecting Send invite.

You can also include a personalized message or pick from a template. Click Invite to send the portal invite.

Resend Invite

Resend a client portal invite by:

  1. Going back to the Client Record

  2. Selecting the dropdown arrow for the Contact

  3. Clicking Resend invite Note: Resending an invite allows the client to use the new invite link to log in without needing to complete the full setup again. However, if you remove portal access and send a new invite, the client must complete the portal setup/registration process again using the new invitation link.

Remove Access to a Client Portal

Remove access to a client portal by:

  1. Going back to the Client Record

  2. Selecting the dropdown arrow for the Contact

  3. Clicking Remove accessAlternatively, you can remove access by right-clicking on a portal user's name from the Client List and selecting Remove access.Note: The Remove access option will not appear for contacts who are not portal users.### Adjusting Permissions and Visibility To modify a client’s portal visibility settings:

  4. Open the client’s profile.

  5. Click Edit Client Info.

  6. Select Edit Invited Contact.

  7. Scroll to the bottom of the contact settings to find the portal visibility and permissions options (e.g., "View files tab," "View and download").

  8. Check or uncheck the appropriate boxes to adjust access as nee Note: Removing portal access or deleting an email address from a contact does not automatically unlink the Client Portal login. To unlink the login, you must explicitly click the "Unlink" button in the contact’s profile under the contact edit view. Note: Revoking a client’s portal access removes their ability to log into the portal but does not affect their email address or its connection to the client profile. The email remains linked to the profile unless explicitly unlinked.ded.

Did this answer your question?